Volumne 12, Issue No. 1
February 4, 2014

ANA-PAC Welcomes New Trustees

The American Nurses Association Political Action Committee (ANA-PAC) proudly welcomed six new Trustees in August.  The ANA-PAC Board of Trustees is charged with managing the affairs of ANA-PAC; establishing the criteria and processes for endorsement of Federal candidates; determining the procedures for collection and distribution of funds to candidates and national party committees; and other needs that the ANA Board of Directors considers politically expedient. ANA-PAC Trustees are responsible for oversight of the ANA-PAC and accountable to the ANA Board of Directors.  Trustees also actively lobby ANA members regarding ANA’s legislative, political and fundraising activities. As Trustees, they serve as a resource for ANA’s political and legislative educational programs and activities. Please join us in welcoming our new Trustees:

Thomas Ray Coe, PhD, MBA, MHA, RN, is a Nurse Scientist at the Womack Army Medical Center in Fayetteville, North Carolina. He has served on many ANA committees such as the Committee on Bylaws, Nursing Experts Roundtable on Economics Policy, and Congress on Nursing Practice and Economics. Dr. Coe has valuable executive experience and a deep understanding of nursing policy and the legislative arena.

Devyn Denton, RN, is a Clinical Administrator for Mercy in Schools and a Staff ED/PC Nurse in Edmond, Oklahoma. She was recently elected to the ANA Board of Directors and is the founder and President of the Emerging Nurse Program, a special interest group for new nurses of the Oklahoma Nurses Association (ONA). The Emerging Nurse Program engages newly licensed nurses and urges them to increase their involvement in ONA and ANA. Ms. Denton also has considerable experience in local community fundraising.

Faith Jones, MSN, RN, NEA‐BC, is the Interim Chief Clinical Officer and Professional Services Consultant for Barrett Hospital and Health Care in Dillon, Montana. Ms. Jones resides in Powell, Wyoming, where she is President of the Wyoming Nurses Association (WNA).  Through WNA, she has lobbied elected officials at the local, state, and national levels. In addition, she was one of the initial contributors to the development of the Wyoming Nursing Leadership Institute.  

Gayle Peterson, RNBC, works as a staff nurse at Massachusetts General Hospital in Boston, and has been involved in the ANCC (American Nurses Credentialing Center) Magnet Recognition® Program as a Magnet Ambassador and representative to the Massachusetts Magnet Networking Committee. For several years, Ms. Peterson has been on the Health Policy Committee for Massachusetts Association of Registered Nurses (MARN), where she examined nursing related legislation, testified in front of various state legislative committees, and presented at yearly legislative forums. Ms. Peterson has also served as a three-term ANA House of Delegate Member and on the ANA Congress on Nursing Practice & Economics.

Jan Crandall Polizzi, MS, RN recently retired after 35 years of nursing practice. She was an elected member of the 87th General Assembly of the Missouri House of Representatives, while continuing to work as a staff nurse on weekends. Ms. Polizzi served as the Vice Chair of the Missouri House of Representatives Committee on Public Health and Safety. In addition to her own political campaign activities, she actively recruited other nurses to run for office and helped on their campaigns with letter writing, fundraising, and efforts to get out the vote.

Patricia Travis, RN, PhD, CCRP, is an Associate Director of Clinical Research for Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine, Office of Research Administration, in Baltimore, Maryland. In addition to being past President of the Maryland Nurses Association (MNA), she served in the ANA House of Delegates for many years. Dr. Travis has mentored countless nurses including many in the MNA leadership, and has served in a wide variety of clinical and leadership roles. 

New ANA-PAC officers, including Chair, Vice Chair, Secretary, and Treasurer will be elected later this month.

For more information about ANA-PAC Trustees please contact ana-pac@ana.org

Angela Song

Bookmark and Share

Tags: , ,

Comments are closed.